Home Politics Old Order Changes As… NPP DELEGATES SPEAK!

Old Order Changes As… NPP DELEGATES SPEAK!

8 min read


…Shocks, Mixed Feelings And Jubilations Characterized Regional Elections 

Shocks, mix-feeling and jubilations characterized the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) regional elections over the weekend as some of the contenders, hitherto considered mighty in the party suffered unimaginable defeats, making way for new faces to take over  the steering of  affairs of the party at the regional levels.

Results declared so far indicates that the regional branches of the party will for the next four years be led by new faces and new blood.

In the Volta Region, the immediate past regional organizer of the party, Mr. Makafui Kofi Woanyah, was elected the new chairman beating off stiff competition from three other aspirants after having polled 296 out of the 497 votes to secure the position.

In the Ashanti Region, the Ashanti Regional Chair Bernard Antwi Boasiako (Wontumi) was acclaimed beacuse he went unopposed.

Also, Divine Otoo Agorhom, Standard Water CEO emerged the new Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the governing NPP after beating his arch-rival by polling a total of 276 valid votes.

The elections which were held in Greater Accra, Eastern, Volta, and Upper East Regions amongst others, were generally peaceful despite a couple of court injunctions by some disqualified aspirants.
Meanwhile, the remaining regions are expected to hold their elections before April 24 except the Northern Region which has its elections rescheduled to April 28, 2018.
Below are the results from some of the regions:


Greater Accra


Chairman Divine Otoo Agorhom
1st Vice Chair Nii Adjei Tawiah
2nd Vice Chair Joana Frances Adda
Secretary Daniel Odarlai Parker Francis
Assistant Secretary Baba Seidu
Treasurer Rachel Abena Tutu
Organizer Prince Obeng
Youth Organizer Moses Abor
Women’s Organiser Grace Acheampong
Nasara Coordinator Alhaji Kamil Hussein

Chairman Bernard Antwi Boasiako (Wontumi)
1stVice Nsenkyire 2nd Vice Sam Cudjoe
Secretary Sam Pyne
Assistant Secretary Lawyer Adom-Appiah
Organizer Franzua
Women Organizer Nana Ama Ampomah
Youth Organiser
Nelson Owusu Ansah
Treasure Hajia Zenaib Sallow
Nasara Coordinator Salim Bamba

Chairman Makafui Kofi Woanyah
1st Vice Chairman Kofi Adjei Ntim
2nd Vice Chairman Abdallah Mohammed Sadiq
Secretary Enoch Kwabla Amegbletor Assistant Secretary Janet Emefa Obro- Adibo
Treasurer Joseph Dente
Organizer Emmanuel Korsi Bodja
Women Organizer Afi Agyagbo Youth Organizer King David Ninkab Nkabonam
Nasara Coordinator Aliu Bashiru Sharubutu

Chairman Kiston Akomeng Kissi
1st Vice Chairman Alhaji Umar Bodinga
2nd Vice Chairman Richard Twum Barimah
Secretary Jeff Konadu Addo
Assistant Secretary Nana Yaw Papin
Treasurer Ben Kumi Larbi
Organizer Kwame Appiah Kodua
Women Organizer Fati Vondolie. – 297
Youth Organizer Jerry Osei-Opoku
Nasara Coordinator Hussien Mohammed Fadilu

Upper East
Chairman Lawyer Anthony Namoo
1st Vice-chairman Moses Kwabena Atinga
2nd Vice-chairman Bugri Abubakar Ibrahim
Secretary Cletus Innocent Ayabire
Assistant secretary Elvis Figo Atia Awonekai
Organzer Jerry Asamani
Treasurer Ayamba Georgina
Youth Organizer Solomon Latif Yenah
Nasara Coordinator Alhaji Mohammed Siitah Abubakari
In the Western Region on Saturday, the NPP delegates retained five of their old regional executives at the party’s Regional Executives Elections held in Tarkwa.

The Regional 1st Vice Chairman, Mr.  Francis Ndede Siah, who contested for the Regional Chairman position, was elected after polling 233 votes to beat his closest rival, Mr. Benjamin Armah, who polled 160 votes. Other two competitors in the chairmanship race- Mr. Frank Etti and Nana Owusu Ankomah, also polled 73 and 31 votes respectively.

The incumbent Regional Secretary, Mr.  Charles Bissue, who was seeking a second term, was also retained.  He polled 248 votes to beat two other contestants – Okatakyie Amankwa Afrifa and Emmanuel Acquaah who polled 188 and 61 votes respectively.

Samuel Kofi Abiaw, the Regional Deputy Secretary was also retained after polling 227 votes, beating Samuel Adu Adjei and Ken Woode managed 187 and 84 votes respectively.

Another executive who was retained was Abdul Ganiyu Mohammed, the Regional Organizer. He emerged victorious after bagging 230 votes. Yaw Amoabeng Acheampong followed with 196 votes. Kojo Acquah and Baba Yiddana also followed with 18 and seven votes respectively.

After bagging 335 votes, Golly Antwi Bosiako, the Regional Women Organizer, also retained her position.  Her rivals were Juliana Aidoo and Agnes Naana Amoah, who managed 99 and 64 votes respectively.


There were five new entrants. These were Nana Kwasi Ansah, 1st Vice Chairman; Ishmael Evonlah Whajah, 2nd Vice Chairman; Benedict Addae, Youth Organizer; and Anna Horma Akaisi Miezah, Treasurer.


The NPP Acting National Women Organizer, Hajia Saudatu Saed, who chaired the event, thanked the contestants for carrying out their respective campaigns peacefully devoid of attacks.

She also congratulated the elected executives for emerging victorious and urged them to work together in harmony to advance the cause of the party in the region.

The peaceful ceremony was colourful and tinged with singing and dancing by party supporters.


Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

December 7 Polls: NPP Will Capture Ashaiman -Alhaji Labaran Assures

By Alex Boye   The National Democratic Congress'(NDC) dominance in the Ashaiman Const…